Teaching to Strengths

I am a firm believer in using the positive aspects of dyslexia to teach the girls rather than spending our lives on remediating what is “wrong”.  I still think reading recovery is death by a 1000 paper cuts. For some kids, it might be awesome and just what they need, for mine it was torturous and had no value at all.  For the record, both my girls are now avid readers reading well above their age.  They both still struggle with close reading but we separate the two and encourage their love of books

My dyslexic strengths are very different from either of my kids even though we share the same weaknesses.  Our main weaknesses are spelling, reading unfamiliar text out loud and no working memory.

I found the book “The Dyslexic Advantage” fantastic.  If you haven’t read it yet, get a copy (it is also available on audiobook).  It helped me see where my girls’ strengths lie – and why my youngest has a somewhat freaky ability to recall places and events so clearly!  In turn, this is helping me find ways to help them learn in a way that will make it easier for them to recall the information when they need it in exams.

Leave a Reply

